ITAC - IT Architect certification

I am working on getting the ITAC certification. ITAC stands for the IT Architect Certification program from The Open Group. For IT architects there are several certifications. Check this article for more on the various possibilities.

The Open Group has two certification programs: TOGAF certified and ITAC.

TOGAF certification tells something about the TOGAF knowledge of the architect. One can learn the TOGAF book and do a multiple choice computer based exam. If the exam is done in good standing, the architect is certified. TOGAF certification looks very much like PRINCE 2 certification for project managers.

ITAC certification does not tell what an architect knows, but what experience he has and what personal skills he has. For ITAC certification, it is not needed to be TOGAF certified or even know the TOGAF framework. One must prove to be able to have done architectural work in real life situations for many years. ITAC certification is very much like IPMA certification for project managers.

There are about 2200 ITAC certified architects around the world.

The ITAC certification is an international standard. There are three levels:

  1. Certified IT Architect
  2. Master Certified IT Architect
  3. Distinguished Certified IT Architect

Level 1 is the easiest to get, level 3 the hardest.

To get ITAC certification, a so called certification package must be created by the applicant. This certification package must contain proof of the various ITAC conformance requirements, including signed documents from clients the architect worked for. After the certification package is applied, the architect is invited to visit a certification board. The architect must then present a case from his certification package to the certification board. The certification board will ask questions to the architect. And if all goes well, the architect can receive certification.

The requirements that lead to the certification package are not easy to conform to. Here is a document describing all ITAC requirements. Some examples are:

  • The Candidate must prove that given a scope of architectural work to be accomplished, he planned the work, formed a team to perform the work, and guided the team in performing the work to completion.
  • The Candidate must mediate opposing viewpoints and negotiate equitable solutions to ensure successful and stable outcomes.
  • The Candidate must prove to have used modeling techniques – such as use case, scenario modeling, prototyping, benchmarking, and performance modeling – to describe the problem space, to size the solution and to validate that the proposed architecture addresses the business requirements.
  • The Candidate must have been responsible for the architecture definition activity of a project or engagement across the full lifecycle appropriate to that project or engagement, and must have been involved as an IT Architect, or in some other capacity working with others, to ensure the architecture has been realized.

In total 38 of these type of requirements are stated.

One of the hardest is:

  • The Application Package must contain a list of experiences in each of which the Candidate has successfully applied a recognized method.

A list of recognized methods can be found here.

The ITAC certification is very hard to get, but it is a very valuable title to have as an architect.

This entry was posted on Friday 06 June 2008

Earlier articles

The cloud is as insecure as its configuration

Infrastructure as code

My Book

DevOps for infrastructure

Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS)

(Hyper) Converged Infrastructure

Object storage

Software Defined Networking (SDN) and Network Function Virtualization (NFV)

Software Defined Storage (SDS)

What's the point of using Docker containers?

Identity and Access Management

Using user profiles to determine infrastructure load

Public wireless networks

Supercomputer architecture

Desktop virtualization

Stakeholder management

x86 platform architecture

Midrange systems architecture

Mainframe Architecture

Software Defined Data Center - SDDC

The Virtualization Model

What are concurrent users?

Performance and availability monitoring in levels

UX/UI has no business rules

Technical debt: a time related issue

Solution shaping workshops

Architecture life cycle

Project managers and architects

Using ArchiMate for describing infrastructures

Kruchten’s 4+1 views for solution architecture

The SEI stack of solution architecture frameworks

TOGAF and infrastructure architecture

The Zachman framework

An introduction to architecture frameworks

How to handle a Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attack

Architecture Principles

Views and viewpoints explained

Stakeholders and their concerns

Skills of a solution architect architect

Solution architects versus enterprise architects

Definition of IT Architecture

What is Big Data?

How to make your IT "Greener"

What is Cloud computing and IaaS?

Purchasing of IT infrastructure technologies and services

IDS/IPS systems

IP Protocol (IPv4) classes and subnets

Infrastructure Architecture - Course materials

Introduction to Bring Your Own Device (BYOD)

IT Infrastructure Architecture model

Fire prevention in the datacenter

Where to build your datacenter

Availability - Fall-back, hot site, warm site

Reliabilty of infrastructure components

Human factors in availability of systems

Business Continuity Management (BCM) and Disaster Recovery Plan (DRP)

Performance - Design for use

Performance concepts - Load balancing

Performance concepts - Scaling

Performance concept - Caching

Perceived performance

Ethical hacking

The first computers

Open group ITAC /Open CA Certification

Sjaak Laan

Recommended links

Ruth Malan
Gaudi site
Esther Barthel's site on virtualization
Eltjo Poort's site on architecture


XML: RSS Feed 
XML: Atom Feed 


The postings on this site are my opinions and do not necessarily represent CGI’s strategies, views or opinions.


Copyright Sjaak Laan